Bookmark and Share

(Lewiston). A mix of eleven Idahoans with varied backgrounds will make up the Lewis-Clark State College Presidential Search Committee.

Chairman Don Soltman of Rathdrum announced the following members of the committee:

  • Paul Agidius, State Board of Education, Immediate Past President
  • A.L. “Butch” Alford, Retired media executive, Director LCSC Foundation, former SBOE member
  • Dawn Byers, Chair, LCSC Professional Staff Organization
  • Dr. Cyndie Hammond, Campus Director, LCSC Coeur d’Alene
  • Dr. Andy Hanson, Dean of Student Services, Lewis-Clark State College
  • Patty Leonard, Immediate Past President LCSC Classified Staff Organization
  • Dr. Joni Mina, Immediate Past Chair, LCSC Faculty Senate
  • Andy Ridinger, Media Relations Professional/Student Government Associate Justice
  • Don Soltman, Secretary State Board of Education
  • Joe Stegner, Senator, District 7, Idaho State Senate, Director LCSC Foundation
  • Mike Thomason, Regional Business Manager, Avista Corporation, Director LCSC Foundation

“This is a very strong group of people, all of whom have a very real perspective on LC’s unique role and impact to the community, the area and the state,” said Chairman Don Soltman.

The committee will meet to review a job description, resumes and ultimately offer a list of suggested finalists to the State Board for the position of president of the Lewis-Clark State College. Soltman added, “I believe we will find the best person for this position. LC is one of the real great places to work and learn. It’s a great community.”

No defined time frame has been set for the committee to deliver a list of suggested finalists to the Board but Soltman said he expects the work to take several months to possibly a year.

The position became available after Dr. Dene K. Thomas accepted a similar position with Ft. Lewis College in Durango Colorado. The Board named Dr. Tony Fernandez, VP/Provost, Interim President on May 24, 201. Dr. Fernandez has indicated he intends to apply for the permanent position.

To learn more about Lewis-Clark State College, please visit. www.lcsc.edu.

Chief Communications and Legislative Affairs Officer

Marilyn WhitneyEmail



Download Acrobat Reader to view documents on this site

Follow State Board of Education on Twitter