Private College & University Registration
News and Updates
As of February 2013
2013-2014 Information & Instructions: Use Form-"B" this year
Please Note: Your school may not be eligible to participate in the Veteran's Benefits Assistance Programs or to become a Dept of Labor/Workforce Investment Act (DOL/WIA) or Idaho Div of Vocational Rehabilitation (IDVR) service provider, unless it is properly registered with the State Board of Education (SBOE).
-- Before signing the Attestation Page you should carefully review Idaho Code Title 33/Chapter 24 and IDAPA 08.01.11-sec 200 & 201, standards of organization and conduct. Signing the Attestation is a legal statement that your institution is in full compliance with all applicable Idaho law.
First Time Applicants: All 1st time must contact the State Coordinator to review their specific circumstances and requirements and must use "Form-A, the Primary Database Application."Renewal Registrations: All Institutions should submit applications annually before May 30th using the forms posted on this web page. (There is no Surety Bond requirement for accredited PEIs.)
- Forms may be revised frequently, so always download this year's form off this web page. Do not assume the one you used last year is the same.
- All information called for on the application must be submitted, unless otherwise indicated.
-- Registration documents will not be issued until all required information is on file at OSBE.
-- Please be sure to include a direct Name, Phone & Email address in all correspondence.
Idaho Law: Chapter 24, Title 33 of Idaho Statute and Administrative Rule (IDAPA) 08.01.11, define a Postsecondary Educational Institutions (PEI) is a degree-granting school. If your school grants even one (1) college-level degree (Associate or higher), you must register as a PEI. If your school does Not grant degrees, you must register as a Proprietary School (PS).
-- NOTE: To register as a Degree-granting college (PEI) your institution MUST be accredited by an agency recognized by the USDE and CHEA. ALL Unaccredited schools MUST instead register as a PS and award ONLY Certificates of Course Completion until accreditation is achieved. (refer questions to the State Coordinator)
-- The SBOE does not Accredit, Sanction, Certify or Approve any specific course or program of instruction. Registration is Not an endorsement of the institution itself. Schools/Corporations/businesses may only advertize that they are "properly registered with SBOE."
- Annual Registration Fee = one-half of one percent of Gross Idaho Tuition Revenue (.005 x $GITR) for the previous TAX year. (This is a 2013 change.) A Business Check (no personal checks) for the Fee amount must accompany the application. Minimum fee is $100 / maximum is capped at $5000. Schools whose calculated fee is $1,000 or greater may opt for Quarterly Payments. (see State Coordinator for details)
- Gross Idaho Tuition Revenue = Only revenue generated inside the borders of Idaho. If your school also has teaching sites outside Idaho the revenue generated there does Not count toward Idaho registration.
- "Presence:" Idaho is a "Brick & Mortar" state. Online-Only Institutions located outside Idaho Do Not have to register. Only those schools that have teaching or business operations facilities inside Idaho need register. Recruiting Agents, attending school/job fairs, online course practicums/clinicals conducted inside Idaho, or employing faculty who live in Idaho, etc, Do Not Count as Presence.
- Academic or Training Curriculum Approval:
a) SBOE registration is Not an approval of curriculum nor an endorsement of the school. PEIs must be accredited by an agency recognized by USDE and CHEA.
b) Programs that are not yet individually accredited must be identified on the annual application. The Institution must ensure that All Certificate Programs training curriculum is in compliance with the applicable Idaho professional/trade board's training standards. If no such Idaho board or commission exists, then the national standards of training or trade/professional certification will apply.
c) If a Practicum/Intern-Externship/Clinical or any form of Work-Study component (whether Supervised or not) is required in order to complete the Certificate program or graduate with a degree, the institution must arrange for enough of these positions for every enrolled student. This may become a limiting factor on enrollment (by program) if not enough positions are available for all students within a reasonable daily commuting distance from the school or the student's home.
-- IMFORMED CONSENT: Every student who must complete an internship or clinical must sign a written acknowledgement of the terms and specific conditions of the clinical experience prior to enrollment in the course or program of instruction. (Terms must include, but are not limited to, travel distance, weekly hours involved, responsibility to document participation, conditions of supervision while away from the school campus, etc.)
SCHOOL CLOSURES: If your Institution must close before all enrolled students have completed their courses/program of instruction, then School Officials Must Immediately;
1. Notify the OSBE/State Coordinator of the Closure Date and Reasons for closing.
2. Arrange for a "teach out" for all current students; (provide opportunity to transfer and complete their program at another school) ... OR ... Directly refund 100% of all pre-paid tuition for the coursework and/or programs that can no longer be completed. (Same applies to cancellation of an individual course or program of study.)
3. Publish a public media notice of where, when and how over the next 45 work-days all current and former students may obtain their school records and transcripts. (Keep the State Coordinator directly informed. OSBE will not hold closed school records, but must know what happened to them for future reference.)
APPLICATION & Other FORMs:
*EMAIL or Mail (No CODs) your complete application package to:
State Coordinator for Private Colleges and Proprietary Schools
Office of the State Board Of Education
650 West State Street (POB 83720)
Boise, ID 83720-0037